Eggplant purée with Chicken Skewers

IMG_8595

Last night I was thinking of a new recipe and when I found some eggplants in my fridge, I decided to prepare a traditional Turkish recipe: eggplant puree! My mom used to prepare this with sliced beef however I tried it with chicken skewers and the result was amazing!

Enjoy!

Ingredients

  • 4 long eggplants
  • 1 little garlic ( chopped into small pieces)
  • 1 cup of milk
  • 1 tablespoon of butter
  • 1 tablespoon of flour
  • Chicken skewers ( I bought the ready ones however you can also use chicken breast too)
  • Salt & pepper

 

Preheat the oven’s grill to 250C.

Place the eggplants and grill them until they are soft and roasted ( in my case it was around 20 mins)

Then, peel the eggplants. Cut them into very small cubes, put them aside.

Now, start to prepare the sauce, which is a “béchamel sauce”. Here either you can use the prepared béchamel sauce, or you can prepare it with flour and butter.

Béchamel sauce ( how I’ve learnt from my mom)

Take a sauce pan, add the butter, melt it and add the flour . Then add the milk very slowly. While you add the milk, make sure that you whisk it very fast and continuously. You’ll see that the sauce will be thicker. Once it is ready and thick add the eggplants, salt and pepper.

Once the sauce is ready, then add eggplant slices, salt and pepper.  Serve it warm with chicken skewers or with sliced beef.

Bon appetite!

Leave a Reply

