Braised Celery with Oranges

kereviz

This one is a family recipe… Every time I eat this, it reminds me of home, Istanbul and my mum’s kitchen!

This morning, I called my mum from facetime and noted all the things that she told me. Normally she adds sweet peas and carrot however this time I tried it only with onions and potatoes. The result was excellent so I wanted to share with you all… Hope you try it one day!

Enjoy.

Ingredients 

  • 1 Big celery
  • 1 medium onion
  • 4 tablespoon of olive oil
  • 1 cup of water
  • 1 teaspoon of suger
  • 2 small potatoes ( If you have carrots and sweet peas at home add it as well)
  • Juice of a 1 fresh orange if not you can use 1 lemon or 1 mandarin juice.
  • Salt & pepper

Cooking Time:  30 min

Level: Easy,  for 2-3 person

Take a big pan with a cover.

Chop the onions into semi rings.

Clean the celery, peel off the skin and cut them into 2 cm thick circles. Do the same for the potatoes.

Put all the ingredients into the pan, add olive oil, water, sugar, orange juice, salt and pepper. Cook it over a medium heat and always close the cover.  After the first 10 mins check if there is still water, if not add little bit more. Once the celeries and onions are soft, turn the heat down.

Let it cool down and serve it either warm or cold.

My grandma used to keep the dish 1 night in the fridge… Apparently the dish becomes more delicious for the next night 🙂 I am doing the same grandma, i know that even you are in paradise, you hear me and you can see me 🙂 Love you!

Bon appétit!

Leave a Reply

